And We Give You…the World’s Sexiest Man

So that is the kind of post title I need to capture your attention, huh? Good to know! But this post isn’t actually about this year’s World’s Sexiest Man title-holder Bradley Cooper, but instead is about his runner-up Mr. J.R. Martinez.

Martinez was the winner of this season’s Dancing with the Stars mirror ball trophy.  With a hefty resume including titles like:  U.S. Navy Seal, motivational speaker, and sexy samba man…not to mention is beautiful complexion, giant pearly whites, and muscular frame…there is no doubt people don’t envision a sexy man right off.  However, what you might not envision if you didn’t see J. R. at first is a man with a missing ear and severe burn scars.

Martinez was the victim of his burns when his Humvee hit a landmine on the road to Baghdad. Forty percent of his body was burned. They say 32-34 percent of it was third degree.

“The first time I seen my face, it was pretty hard,” Martinez said. “The doctors didn’t want to let me do it yet, but I said I’ve got to get strong, and I’ve got to learn how to deal with it.”

I think we take for granted how much our looks contribute to who we think we are.  Martinez may have thought in essence that he lost himself.  Can you even imagine looking into the mirror after something like this and realizing that, that you forever? I’ve kind of noticed that our physical appearance can be a fall back for us in times of weakness.  But scars like the ones J.R. has are unavoidable… you can’t hide behind that.  He faced this challenge with strength though, recognized that he was dealt this card, and moved forward making everything he had work for him.  I’d say he has done just that–he is incredibly sexy and successful.

I’ve linked two videos about J.R. here below and highly encourage you to take a look at them… like, NOW! The second one is a short clip that DWTS did on J.R. that they played before he completely his final dance of the season.  I thought they did a wonderful job at creating a moving summary about this complex, inspirational man.

His cool, quiet confidence and attitude for life have kept J.R. going.  Taking a life-altering accident like his and moving forward with more strength than ever before is absolutely incredible. It is an absolute shame that he already has a girlfriend 😉

“I jokingly tell people now I was listed as one of the Sexiest Man Alive, I tell people when they ask me did you ever think that would be possible? I said absolutely, 33 surgeries, I better be one of the Sexiest Men Alive. It was a long rode and a tough ride at 19 years old to look at your body and your face and say, ‘What am I going to do about this now? How I’m going to move forward? Thinking you’re completely alone and no one in the world understands or can relate to you, but luckily I was able to see a side that I can use my second chance at life as an opportunity to help people with their first chance at life, and I wanted to really pass that on to people and help them in a powerful way. Luckily, I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to do that.”

“I look at it now my new weapon are my words and my new uniform is my scars,” he says. “I’m going to continue to serve in a bigger way than I felt I could do in Iraq, which I feel is going to be more needed now if the talks of pulling our guys out of Iraq and Afghanistan and bringing them home now. You’re going to see a lot more guys that are going to need that psychological aspect of recovery. It’s important for me to be that voice.”

Leave a Reply

