Movie Gems

So I thought I would throw in a different medium here to talk about….Movies! Some of the movies that I’m going to list in this post aren’t necessarily true stories–but that is beside the point. These films are biguns and are absolutely inspiring. I think you know the type of caliber I’m talking about when I describe how you might have felt after seeing “Warrior.”  You walked in feeling tired or just fairly content and walked out wanting to change the world and become a UFC fighter.  See what I’m saying, there is power beyond measure in these movies like this.  They have the ability to move us out of our natural mundane mindset and into a frame-of-reference that enables us to live up to our potential.  Personally, I don’t understand why people want to watch gorey, scary films instead of something that uplifts them. So basically, if you want to watch a scary movie and be freaked out for the rest of the week–don’t call me to be included in on that ha. I want to watch something that is a quality film based off my own standards.  And to me, a quality film is one that has the ability to move me emotionally enough to want to become a better person–even after the reel is stops turning.

I wanted to put together some of my top favorite quotes from unforgettable movies to help get you started with creating/thinking about your own favorites list. So there is the challenge people! However, if you’re one of those thinking that this challenge isn’t for you (which is really is) then I want to issue a different challenge.  Next time you walk into a quality caliber of film,  let yourself become completely vulnerable.  Drop the walls and experience whatever emotions that naturally come to you fully.  Take note of the parts that move you and revisit the themes of the idea later on.  For me some of these quotes came in times that I was stretched emotionally, and therefore, these have great meaning to me–they inspire me.

Secretariat: My all-time favorite movie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“It’s not whether they think we won.  It’s whether we think we won.” – Penny’s father Chris Chenery

Remember the Titans

“This is where they fought the battle of Gettysburg. Fifty thousand men died right here on this field, fighting the same fight that we are still fighting among ourselves today. This green field right here, painted red, bubblin’ with the blood of young boys. Smoke and hot lead pouring right through their bodies. Listen to their souls, men. I killed my brother with malice in my heart. Hatred destroyed my family. You listen, and you take a lesson from the dead. If we don’t come together right now on this hallowed ground, we too will be destroyed, just like they were. I don’t care if you like each other or not, but you will respect each other. And maybe… I don’t know, maybe we’ll learn to play this game like men.”
 
Sandlot
“Remember kid, there’s heroes and there’s legends. Heroes get remembered but legends never die. Follow your heart, kid, and you’ll never go wrong.”
 
Rocky IV
“Going in one more round when you don’t think you can –
that’s what makes all the difference in your life.”
 
Rudy
“Were gonna go inside, were gonna go outside, inside and outside. Were gonna get ’em on the run boys and once we get ’em on the run were gonna keep ’em on the run. And then were gonna go go go go go go and were not gonna stop ’til
we get across that goalline.” 
 
Coach Carter
“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine as children do. It’s not just in some of us; it is in everyone. And as we let our own lights shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence
automatically liberates others.”
 
Love and Basketball
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
“All is fair in love and basketball.
Double or nothing.”
 
Warrior
“My life is simple, my food is plain, and my quarters are uncluttered. In all things, I have sought clarity. I face the troubles and problems of life and death willingly. Virtue, integrity and courage are my priorities. I can be approached, but never pushed; befriended but never coerced; killed but never shamed.
 
Forever Strong
“Let’s focus on where you could end up, not where you were or are.”
(As for this picture I included….Yep, I couldn’t resist. Hello number 12 😉 )

Leave a comment